New Year’s Resolutions

Here it goes: my New Year’s Resolutions for 2013.

1Be on time.

I have major issues with time management. I’m habitually late.

This one’s probably my biggest resolution, and the hardest for me to accomplish.

I’m the Princess of Procrastination, which plays a major factor in my lateness.

In 2013, I’m going to try to be ahead of the game, get things done before the last-minute, and be a few minutes early everywhere I go.

This means allotting extra time for travel and giving myself plenty of time to get ready in the morning instead of assuming that I’m a speedy shower-er… in not.

 

2Live a healthier lifestyle.

I’m going to schedule gym classes into my planner. Lot’s of Zumba!

I’m going to attempt to learn to cook this year. The key word is attempt. I’m a horrible cook! But cooking from home is usually healthier than eating out and living off of frozen meals, so it’s worth a shot. Anyone want to come give me some lessons?

I’m going to continue to focus on positivity and finding happiness in life. Everything happens for a reason and one of my main goals is to live 2013 by that mantra.

 

3Be more adventurous.

I want to stop playing life so safe all the time and cut loose a little more.

That means going out with my friends more often (I think I’m becoming the “stick in the mud”).

That means going on more trips and taking chances when I’d probably rather lay on the couch and watch Grey’s Anatomy reruns.

It also means getting more involved in the clubs I’m a member of and in my sorority.

Life is too short to let it pass by and 2013 is going to be my year to grab it by the reins!

 

4Spend more time outdoors.

This goes along the lines of being more adventurous.

I think the more time I spend in nature, the more appreciative I am of life.

I’m lucky enough to live in one of the most beautiful cities in America, where I’m not only surrounded by beaches, but also by green peaks. I’m going to take advantage of living in San Luis Obispo while I go to school here, because after college, who knows where my journey could take me?

That means more trips to Avila and Morro Bay, more beach bonfires, more hiking and walking, less driving, and more riding my bike (that’s currently collecting dust.)

 

5Hike Bishops Peak.

still haven’t hiked Bishops! As a Cal Poly Student, hiking this peak is a right of passage.

This goes along with spending more time outdoors, and I’d like to do a lot more hiking in general.

 

6Be more dedicated to my journalism career.

Fall quarter and the end of 2012 was quite overwhelming.

Between school, sorority, and family drama; journalism kind of got put on the back burner.

This quarter, however, I’m interning at KSBY in San Luis Obispo and I could not be more excited!

I think this is exactly what I need to dive back into something I’m so passionate about and improve as a journalist!

I want to do more at my campus television station as well as prove myself through my internship.

 

7Improve this blog!

I’m so excited about the response I’ve gotten to my blog so far and I can’t wait to grow it into something even more wonderful.

My goal is to do more DIY posts and posts about San Luis Obispo.

Although I love how positive my posts have been, I think I need to rev up my content and give my readers more than an insight into my daily life.

I’m also planning some big changes with the appearance of my blog, so stay tuned!

And, like always, I would love to hear your feedback and ideas for my little corner of the Web. Comment below!

 

8Make the Cal Poly Dean’s List.

I have yet to make the Dean’s List. Every quarter, I’ve taken one challenging class that’s kept me right below the cut-off.

Hopefully this quarter, I can buckle down and excel academically.

 

9Do more community service.

As a member of Alpha Chi Omega, I take part in a lot of philanthropy events that better the San Luis Obispo community.

However, I want to take my community involvement a step further and volunteer on my own time.

If you know of any exciting volunteer opportunities, let me know in a comment below!

 

10Travel.

I don’t know where or how far I want to go, but I know of a lot of great opportunities to travel the world and I intend on taking at least one of them.

Whether it be to Spain, Ireland, London, Washington DC, or Hawaii; I want to continue my adventures beyond SLO and take advantage of the freedom my college years give me.

Happy 2103 everyone! May this year bring you as much happiness and adventure as I hope it brings me!

2 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolutions

  1. Pingback: Gratitude Journal Day 35 | Martha: The College Years

  2. Pingback: Gratitude Journal Day 39 | Martha: The College Years

Leave a Reply

